The Ultimate Guide to Watching Naruto Without Fillers (Part 2 - Shippuden)

The Ultimate Guide to Watching Naruto Without Fillers (Part 2 - Shippuden)

In my last post, I went over all of the original Naruto anime’s filler arcs and episodes and now it’s time to look at its older brother, Shippuden. Naruto Shippuden, which, like Dragon Ball Z, is a continuation, follows an older and stronger Naruto on his quest to save his lifelong rival, Sasuke. 

This continuation does suffer from the same problem as its predecessor however, as it too is littered with hundreds upon hundreds of filler episodes. It literally has more than 200 filler episodes(out of 500 in total), making up almost 50% of the whole series. 

So let’s not waste your time(unlike the Naruto Shippuden), and go into which episodes are filler and you can skip.

Fillers in Naruto Shippuden

In this guide I’ll also provide a short synopsis to every filler arc, so that you can decide if you want to skip it or not. Also, bear in mind that there are filler episodes with important cannon events in them, so I’ll timestamp from where you should start watching to not miss the original story.

Without further ado here come all the filler arcs and single episode fillers:

  • Twelve Guardian Ninja(episodes 54-71) - This filler arc adds a bit to the Twelve Guardian Ninja lore with the introduction of a boy named Sora. It also focuses on Naruto ‘s wind style training. The last 10 minutes of episode 71 contain canon material which is relevant for the next arc.
  • Three-Tails' Appearance(episodes 89 to 112) - In this arc, three factions(Akatsuki, Konoha, and Team Guren) try to get to the Three-Tails first and capture it. Episode 89 and the last 10 minutes of episode 112 contain canon material which is relevant to the overall plot. Yes, you’ll still see some dumb filler, but who captures the three-tails beast is important for later arcs in the story. 
  • Six-Tails Unleashed(episodes 144 to 151) - This arc focuses on Utakata, the jinchūriki of Six-Tails beast and his student Hotaru.
  • Past Arc: The Locus of Konoha(episodes 176 to 196) - This arc is a type of flashback arc where multiple characters recount past events in which Naruto was involved. Some of the episodes in this arc contain a mix of filler and cannon. These episodes are episode 176 and episodes 178 through 181. 
  • Paradise Life on a Boat(episodes 223 to 242) - This filler arc focuses on Naruto and his team going to the Land of Lightning by sea in order to hide him from the Akatsuki.
  • Episode 258: Rivals
  • Episode 259: Rift
  • Episode 260: Parting
  • Episode 279: White Zetsu's Trap
  • Episode 280: Aesthetics of an Artist
  • Episode 281: The Allied Mom Force!!
  • Episode 284: The Helmet Splitter: Jinin Akebino!
  • Episode 285: User of the Scorch Style: Pakura of the Sand!
  • Episode 286: Things You Can't Get Back
  • Episode 287: One Worth Betting On
  • Episode 288: Danger: Jinpachi and Kushimaru!
  • Episode 289: The Lightning Blade: Ameyuri Ringo!
  • Power (Arc)(episodes 290 to 295) - This arc sees Team Kakashi on a mission to investigate the massacre of Tonika Village which was done by Kabuto Yakushi. 
  • Fourth Shinobi World War: Confrontation (this is canon arc, however, episodes 303 to 320 are filler
  • Episode 347: Creeping Shadow
  • Episode 348: The New Akatsuki
  • Kakashi's Anbu Arc: The Shinobi That Lives in the Darkness(episodes 349 to 361) - This arc focuses on Kakashi’s past back when he was part of Anbu. It also explores the backgrounds of Yamato and Itachi Uchiha.
  • Episode 376: The Directive to Take the Nine Tails
  • Episode 377: Naruto vs. Mecha Naruto
  • Episode 389: The Adored Elder Sister
  • Episode 390: Hanabi's Decision
  • In Naruto's Footsteps: The Friends' Paths(episodes 394 to 413) - This arc focuses on a second chunin exam which happened after  Naruto’s departure to go train with Jiraiya in the first series.
  • Birth of the Ten-Tails' Jinchūriki (this is canon arc, however, episodes 416, 422, 423 are filler
  • Kaguya Ōtsutsuki Strikes(this is canon arc, however, episodes 428 to 450 are filler
  • Itachi Shinden Book: Light and Darkness(episodes 451 to the first part of 458) - This arc focuses on Itachi’s life up until the annihilation of the whole Uchiha Clan. Episode 458 is one part cannon. Start it at about 09:55 minute mark.
  • Episode 464: Ninshū: The Ninja Creed
  • Episode 465: Ashura and Indra
  • Episode 466: The Tumultuous Journey
  • Episode 467: Ashura's Decision
  • Episode 468: The Successor
Childhood(episodes 480 to 483) - Every episode in this arc is dedicated to two different characters and their past memories.
Share this post...
Previous post Next post
Want to get exclusive offers and anime news? Sign up with your email here:


Leave a comment