Skip to content
Knights of the Zodiac and their Armors 3/3 | Adilsons

Knights of the Zodiac and their Armors 3/3

So, as to this moment we have been talking about the manga and the anime, about the original works and the new series of the Knights of the Zodiac, the remake using CGI. We have mentioned Knights (or otherwise known as Saints) but we have not gone in depth into this matter, so we will do so in this article.

To begin with, there are three basic types of knights: Bronze Knights, Silver Knights and Gold Knights. As you can already imagine, there is a clear difference in power between them. In total, in the canonical story, there are 88 Knights who are to serve for Athena (although we will talk about this later, it is not always the case). Given that the three basic types of knights have been mentioned, let’s jump ahead and talk about each one of these.

First of all, we have the Bronze Knights. They are the only type of warriors who have armors – or cloths – of different colors, not the typical color of bronze metal as you know. The five main characters are Pegasus Seiya, Dragon Long, Cygnus Magnus, Andromeda Shaun and Phoenix Nero.

Seiya, the main character, wears the armor of Pegasus. It is of a shiny silver-like color, standing out of the other armors. In the same way, Seiya, being the main character, stands out from the others. Then there is Long, he wears the Dragon armor which is emerald green, a color generally associated with reptiles. We also have Magnus, the Gygnus Magnus - Credits to TOEI Animation, Netflix and any other owner.

Cygnus Knight. He wears a completely white armor, a metaphor of the cold, both literally and metaphorically. Literally speaking, he trained in the frozen grounds of Siberia and from the metaphorical point of view he has a cold personality, detached from others and extremely fearless. Now comes Andromeda Shaun. She is the Saint who wears the Andromeda Cloth and is of a radiant color pink, which is a reflection of her femininity. She is very sentimental, shows her feelings all the time. Shaun knows how to fight, and very well for that matter, but, even so, tries to avoid fighting at all times. In this sense she is the exact opposite of her brother, Phoenix Nero. Nero wears the Phoenix Cloth and the colors of it are mostly white, purple and orange – the latter being a metaphor for the fire associated to the mythological bird. He is full of hatred and anger, and, as a matter of fact, this combination is the fuel of his power.

We have seen so far, in this article and in previous ones, some pieces of insight into these characters. Seiya being the leader, protagonist and the one who will do literally anything to protect Sienna (the reincarnation of the Goddess Athena), Long who has a very cool temper, thinks things through and thoroughly evaluates every situation and who is willing to give absolutely anything for the sake of his friends, Sienna and the mission, even his vision – this will be crucial for a future event. Magnus is a cold hearted warrior who can withstand just about anything and will even get to a point of… (spoiler alert, cannot go on) ha-ha. Andromeda Shaun is the sentimental one of the team. She will believe in love above all things and in the fact that all people can change, no matter what past does each person have, including her brother Nero. Phoenix Nero is portrayed, at the beginning, as “the bad guy”. This does not make much sense at first but will be super easy to understand later on.

There are other bronze knights as well who play minor roles, such as the knights of Unicorn, Bear, Hydra, Wolf, and Lion, among others. These knights are present in some moments of the manga and anime, mostly at the very beginning but fade off as the story progresses and moves on. As said before, they do not play major roles in the story but do participate in some indirect manners at some given specific moments.

The next “breed” of knights we should talk about is that of the Silver Knights. As you can imagine these are more powerful than the Bronze Knights. Bronze Knights use their five senses and can move up to the speed of sound whereas Silver Knights have another sense, intuition, thus having six senses, and, as if that were not enough, they move at a speed close to five times that of sound. They prove to be tough opponents for the Bronze Knights but you will see how things play out. There are several of these such as Lizard Misty, Eagle Marin, Hound Asterion, and Medusa Argol, among many others. Very few of them are on the side of the five main Bronze Knights while most of them are not.

Whale Moses - Credits to TOEI Animation, Netflix and any other owner.

Lastly, we have come to talk about the mighty Gold Knights. There is one for every western zodiac sign: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces. They are the strongest of the knights and have yet one more sense, thus having seven senses. It is said that any knight can train to the point of awakening their seventh sense – I guess we will have to wait and see. These knights move at the speed of light, which is over 870,000 times faster than the speed of sound, you can imagine that Bronze Knights would be in a pickle standing against these fierce warriors. Sit tight and wait for it, you will not be disappointed.

Leo Aiolia - Credits to TOEI Animation, Netflix and any other owner.

Previous article Top 5 Anime Which Defined Everyone's Childhood

Leave a comment

* Required fields